Girls First, Boys Second In CIC Cross Country Meet

Posted on October 4, 2015 in Boy's Cross Country, Fall Sports, Girl's Cross Country

Matt Wilson
HARTFORD CITY – The Oak Hill girls’ cross country team placed five runners in the top nine en route to defending its Central Indiana Conference championship on Saturday at Blackford High School.
The Eagles won their third straight CIC championship with 21 points. Blackford was second with 66 points.
The Eastbrook boys’ cross country team edged out Oak Hill to win its first CIC championship since 1983. The Panthers won with 34 points, while Oak Hill was second with 39 points. The Eagles and Panthers both put four runners in the top 10.
Oak Hill had won 11 of the last 13 conference championships.
“Today was just the same mentality that we have had all year,” Eastbrook coach Bryan Jackson said. “We ran together and worked together very well today and had a strong performance.”
Oak Hill’s Chandler Julius won the boys’ race in 17:03.
“I felt good during the race even though the weather was cold and rainy,” Julius said.
The top 10 runners earned all-conference honors.
Eastbrook was led by Michael Neideck’s third-place finish in 17:16.
Connor White was fourth in 17:16. Eli Seward was sixth in 17:40.
Channing Cook also earned all-conference honors, taking 10th in 18:00. Brett Holder was 11th in 18:02.
Niedeck and White both overtook Oak Hill’s Silas Vermilya down the stretch.
“Our top two runners going and getting Silas at the end was huge for us,” Jackson said.
Vermilya was fifth in 17:18. Beau Clouser and JC Herring also earned all-conference honors. Clouser was seventh in 17:46 and Herring was eighth in 17:54.
“There is not a lot of times when you are going to put four boys in the top eight and not win this meet, but once again hats off to Eastrook, they ran well again,” Oak Hill coach Paige Brunner said. “But I was happy with the boys’ performance today. They competed much better than they did at the Grant Four.”
Mississinewa’s Brennan Butche earned all-conference honors, taking ninth in 17:55. Mississinewa as a team was fifth with 124 points.
Madison-Grant was seventh with 164 points. Kevin Johnson was 26th in 19:50. Joey Marshall was 30th in 20:07. Sinjin Turner was 33rd in 20:42.
In the girls’ race, Oak Hill sophomore Margo Hornocker won her first CIC championship after taking third last year. Hornocker won in a time of 19:53. Teammate Brooke Hasty was second in 20:13 and Jenessa Hasty was third in 20:21.
“I felt good during the race,” Hornocker said. “We went out fast and me and Brooke both had a good race and we kind of fed off of each other up front.”
Oak Hill’s Savannah Hart and Camille Taylor also were named all-CIC. Hart was eighth in 21:08 and Taylor was ninth in 21:33.
“I wish the girls would have been together in a tighter pack and I feel like we kind of lost focus right there in the middle of the race,” Oak Hill coach Paige Brunner said. “But we kind of had to change our strategy at the last minute after we found out the No. 1 runner from Frankton was not running today.”
Mississinewa’s Amanda Baldwin also was named all conference after taking sixth in 21:04.
Eastbrook finished fourth with 92 points. Sierra Colvin was 12th in 22:24. Erika Walker was 18th in 23:41. Hannah Seward was 20th in 23:50 and Leah Trevino was 21st in 24:05.
Madison-Grant’s Amanda Armstrong was 19th in 23:48.

Leave a Comment