Girls First, Boys Second In Cross Country Grant 4

Posted on September 23, 2015 in Boy's Cross Country, Fall Sports, Girl's Cross Country

Matt Wilson
UPLAND — Oak Hill cross country coach Paige Brunner knew there would be a time when the Eagles’ string of boys’ Grant Four championships would come to and end.
That streak came to an end on Tuesday at Taylor University. Eastbrook placed seven runners in the top 12 to end the Eagles’ streak of 16 straight Grant Four championships. Eastbrook won its first Grant Four championship since 1998.
Eastbrook won with 31 points. Oak Hill had 40 points, while Madison-Grant was third with 87 points and Mississinewa was fourth with 93 points.
“It just feels really good to break that streak,” Eastbrook coach Bryan Jackson said. “We all just did a great job of running in a pack and just did a great job tonight.”
Oak Hill won its third straight girls’ Grant Four championship by placing five runners in the top five spots for 15 points. Eastbrook was second with 56 points and Mississinewa was third with 76 points. Oak Hill has won six of the last eight girls’ Grant Four championships.
Oak Hill sophomore Margo Hornocker won her second straight Grant Four individual championship, winning in a time of 20:31. Mississinewa freshman Brennan Butche won the boys’ individual championship, breaking his own course record with a time of 16:28.
In the boys’ meet, Oak Hill had three runners in the top six, while Eastbrook had two. The difference, however, came with Eastbrook runners occupying the seventh, eighth, ninth, 10th and 12th spot. After a sixth-place finish from Beau Clouser, Oak Hill’s next top finisher was 13th place JC Herring.
For Oak Hill, Chandler Julius was second in 16:51, Silas Vermilya was fifth in 17:21 and Clouser was sixth in 17:25.
“Our back end just didn’t have it today,” Oak Hill coach Paige Brunner said. “I have no complaints about Chandler, Silas and Beau, but when your fourth and fifth runners are running in the 19s and 20s, then you don’t deserve to win championships. But hats off to Eastbrook, they really brought it today and they beat us. They have a really good team this year and hopefully we will give them a better run at conference and in the tournament.”
Michael Neideck was third for Eastbrook in 17:08, while Connor White was fourth in 17:17. Eli Seward was seventh 17:52, Channing Cook was eighth in 17:53, Ethan Keller was ninth in 18:06, Brett Holder was 10th 18:19 and Mark Flanigan was 12th 18:41.
“We really hung well together and we ran together as a pack,” Jackson said. “We knew we had a shot if we all ran together in a pack. I’m really happy with the way that we ran.”
Butche was a little surprised that he was able to win the individual race.
“I was not really expecting this,” Butche said. “I just wanted to go out strong and when I noticed that there was no one really behind me I just wanted to keep up with my pace.”
Butche said his goal was to go 5:05 in the first mile and then go quicker in the second mile, so that would bring his time down.
“I was not quite able to bring my time down in my second mile, but I tried my best,” Butche said.
Mason Miller led Madison-Grant with his 11th place finish of 18:29.
In the girls’ race, the Eagles ran together in a pack for the first couple of miles before Hornocker started to separate herself from her teammates.
“It feels good to win this for the second year in a row,” Hornocker said. “This gives me motivation for the rest of the season to keep dropping my time.”
Freshman Jenessa Hasty was second for the Eagles in 20:42. Senior Brooke Hasty was third in 20:50, sophomore Savannah Hart was fourth in 21:14 and sophomore Camille Taylor was fifth 21:23.
“Our girls did a good job of sticking to the plan,” Brunner said. “We wanted them to run as a group for the first couple of miles. We did a good job of that and now we have to find a way to do that in the bigger meets. Right now our goal is not to lose any more meets until semistate.”
Mississinewa’s Amanda Baldwin was sixth in 21:59. Oak Hill’s Lorraine Gamble was seventh in 22:18. Eastbrook’s Hannah Seward and Sierra Colvin placed eighth and ninth, respectively in 23:00 and 23:14, and Oak Hill’s India Ulshafer was 10th in 23:28.
Oak Hill won the junior high boys’ meet with 29 points. Eastbrook was second with 54 points. R.J. Baskett was third with 65 points and Madison-Grant was fourth with 93 points. Eastbrook’s Ben Neideck won in 10:54. Oak Hill’s Tahj Johnson was second in 11:10. R.J. Baskett’s Tyler Jakob was third in 11:23, Oak Hill’s Macallister Cheek was fourth in 11:36 and Oak Hill’s Surafel Fry was fifth in 11:43.
Oak Hill won the girls’ junior high meet with 30 points. Eastbrook was second with 40 points. R.J. Baskett had 60 points and Madison-Grant had 106 points. Oak Hill’s Kinzie Robey won in 11:47. Oak Hill’s Mollie Gamble was second in 12:07 and Oak Hill’s Kate Hornocker was third in 13:18. R.J. Baskett’s Carli Fones was fourth in 13:37 and R.J. Baskett’s Aurora Fisher was fifth in 13:46.

Leave a Comment